Cops: Above the Law???

B

brianhunter

Originally posted by clapping_tiger
I agree with this statement also, I am very thankful that most of the police do their job, and do it well in my community. The problem I have is off duty hours. Some of the younger officers (early to late twenties) drink (heavily) and drive, and I have even heard rumors of marijuana use(I find it a little hard to believe, you would think they get tested regularly). I have seen the drinking and driving, but I have not seen first hand the drug usage. I have been told by one of my friends that they enjoy hanging out with these guys because it is a get out of jail free card. I don't know if there is any truth to that, but I have never seen a cop in the paper getting a fine or a revocation because of drunk driving. Kind of makes me wonder...

Sometimes thats about perception, I will meet someone not work related and hang out and once they find out Im a police officer the first thing out of their mouth is "so I wont get a ticket speeding if I know you right?" I didnt bring it up, but they went there. The only privalege I ever enjoyed as far as jail is calling one of the deputies (close friend) that I know and telling him to go tell my little brother who was arrested to not be acting like a dumbass because hell get more charges and to call me when he can bond out. If that is even a privalege I guess.
My dept. we have had officers fired for DUI, the county I work within there was a deputy arrested for driving drunk and the sheriff himself showed up at the intoxilizer testing to see the results personally needless to say that deputy was canned. There was also a deputy arrested for domestic violence and fired (you cant carry a gun in KS if you are convicted of DV)