Bull Neck

caped crusader

Brown Belt
Reaction score
how many of you Guys & Gals train your neck directly? I use a neck harness but also do Dumbbell & Barbell shrugs for traps, neck.
and please be careful and do not train too heavy if you´re new to neck training. I am not a fan of the "Wrestlers bridge". not sure if it´s still used in say college wrestling.

OP
caped crusader

caped crusader

Brown Belt
Reaction score
My neck makes noises. I try not to angry it up.
well i actually had a prolapsed disc, C6/7 & i now train it directly. I am not a Doctor and i am not saying everyone should do this.
However a strong neck is good for any martial arts especially wrestling type arts. I have trained in gyms for years but it was really only after my injury that i really trained neck. It helps me 100%

MetalBoar

Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm a big proponent of training the neck for pretty much everyone but especially for people in contact sports and it's a regular part of my workout routine. I really focused on direct neck training after a series of car accidents aggravated an old MA neck injury. I started with manual resistance and then transitioned to the Nautilus XPLoad 4 Way Neck when I was too strong for manual resistance to be practical. I found it to be transformative in relieving the lasting effects of my injuries and also correcting postural problems created by working 50+ hours a week in the computer industry. I think it's also been very effective in preventing injury. In my opinion it's probably one of the most overlooked and undervalued body parts in popular strength training.

Alan0354

Master of Arts
Reaction score