Brand Spankin' New!

M

Monkey King

This is my first time here and my first time posting.

Just wanted to say hi.:asian:

OP
M

Monkey King

Shaolin Do is a traditional martial art providing its practitioners with time-proven self defense techniques.

Shaolin Do is a very complete and comprehensive martial art. The Shaolin system as taught today is comprised of more than fifty styles and nine hundred forms. From this enormous body of material, today's Shaolin Do practitioners receive a broad-based martial education that covers the entire spectrum of martial arts philosophy and technique.

The Shaolin Do curriculum teaches its practitioners sound fundamentals and provides each practitioner with the appropriate mental and physical challenge for their level of training.

I certainly agree with training in all styles and techniques. But I disagree with the thought that classical techniques are obsolete. When sparring I find those techniques quite effective and often catch an opponent off guard. Many of the techniques are dangerous, which is why we don't compete. I find a wide variety of skills when training in the different styles within this art.

We train in the following systems:
White crane - Shantung Black Tiger - Praying Mantis - Pa Kua Chang - Tai Chi Ch'uan - Fist of the Lohan - Chin Na - Drunken Fist - Monkey - Eight Immortals - Iron Bone - Tiger/Crane - Classical and modern fist of Hua - Eagle Claw - Hsing I Ch'uan - Liu Hsing Ch'uan (Meteor Fist) - Weight vest conditioning - Glove Sparring
Weapons: Staff - Spear (Plum Flower, Yang family, Luo Family) - Double Broadswords - Straight Sword - Kwan Dao - Sai - Nunchaku - 3 sectional staff - Tiger hook swords - Butterfly knives - Sai - Short stick - Dragon staff

There are a lot more but I don't want to tie up this thread with extensive lists.

OP
M

Monkey King

The Seven Shao-lin Temples:
Honan (most famous), Fukien, Shantung, Omei Shan, Kwang Tung, Wu-Tang, & Hua Mountain