Book "the secrets of chinese karate"

DutchKenpo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I am looking for the book "secret of chinese karate" by Ed Parker.
Does anyone have a suggesting where i can get one?
Looking for that book to supplement my "kenpo library" and because i am studying the two man set.

grtz,

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As far as I know the book is no longer being printed, you can check Amazon.com, they may have a few used ones there for sale, maybe even Ebay. Also check around various online martial arts stores

karate-mart.com martialartsmart.net and awma.com

Best of luck with finding a copy of the book.

I hope Mr. Billings doesn't mind my saying this, but; on his website kenpo-texas.com he has a rather complete listing of forms and sets, that may be usefull to.

-Josh

OP
DutchKenpo

DutchKenpo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

Thanks for responding, I have found a few copies of that book but at real steep prizes.
Also thnx for the tip on mr billings site, but I knew it already.
In the book are pictures of al the stances and actions, so was really interested.

grtz,

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I just remembered a conversation that I had with my instructor a few months ago. He told me that Mr. 'Huk' Planas was going to be releasing a new video on two man set. Perhaps you should check his site to see if/when it is released.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I have Mr. Planas' two man tape. It walks through the set rather nicely. But, comparing the two-man set tape to the other tapes that Mr. Planas has released, the two-man tape doesn't go into the 'WHY', as much.

At my last private lesson with Mr. Planas, I asked him about the two-man set, and he strongly indicated that it is a very important part of the program; the stances, the strikes, the angle changes, and of course the range. He also recommended the 'SOCKs' book.

Good luck.

Kenpo Mama

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
DutchKenpo said: