Autistic Child Arrested

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/31925271/ns/us_news-crime_and_courts/

SANDPOINT, Idaho - The family of an 8-year-old autistic girl who was arrested at school wants the school district and county to pay more than $500,000 in damages.
Charles and Spring Towry's third-grade daughter, Evelyn, has Asperger's syndrome, an autism spectrum disorder. She was arrested in January on suspicion of battery at Kootenai Elementary School after staffers said she spit on and inappropriately touched two instructors.

Thoughts?

CoryKS

Senior Master
Reaction score
Battery? Really? JHFC, just send the girl home for a couple days suspension. "Hi, I'm ----, I was battered by an 8-year-old." Putz.

OP
M

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score

CoryKS

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm no lawyer or LEO, but I found this:

http://legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/Battery

http://legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/assault

So, as minor as this may be, it seems that they would be justified in making an arrest. However, this, IMO, was hardly the worst example of A&B, so I can't see why the kid would have to be cuffed and brought to the PD, when you can issues a court summons in the field. Then again, a suspension would most likely have sufficed.

Yeah, I understand the definition of the terms. What I don't get is being a) too incompetent to handle an eight-year-old with a behavior proplem without police involvement or b) being petty enough to sic the police on a child for spitting on you. They mention in the article that the girl also "inappropriately touched" them, but I don't know what that means. Unless she c-punched them, but then it wouldn't have been described as a touch.

celtic_crippler

Senior Master
Reaction score
If the child acted inappropriately then the school has the right to dismiss her, but is it really necessary to handcuff an 8 year old?