At home training studios

ikenpo

Black Belt
Reaction score
Back in the day when I was at a conventional school I wouldn't work out at the house very much. Probably because I never really had a specific place to train and I felt that good training was primarily reserved for the school (also I was a dojo rat so I was always at the school...). When I moved to Houston I started training with another instructor who trained out of his home (garage). Prior to that I didn't really have a clue about how to have an at home dojo. Just wondering how many out there have what they would consider a good training area at the house?

jb:asian:

Originally posted by jbkenpo

Back in the day when I was at a conventional school I wouldn't work out at the house very much. Probably because I never really had a specific place to train and I felt that good training was primarily reserved for the school (also I was a dojo rat so I was always at the school...). When I moved to Houston I started training with another instructor who trained out of his home (garage). Prior to that I didn't really have a clue about how to have an at home dojo. Just wondering how many out there have what they would consider a good training area at the house?

jb:asian:

Good subject!

When I first considered teaching Kenpo in private, I already had excellent mats that I used when I was heavy into TKD. My garage is also air conditioned(I will not work like a dog in the garage in this humidity w/o it) I have my heavy bags, hanging dummy, and all other accessories needed to teach a single person, or a small group.

While I was able to get students, for some reason, a few felt uncomfortable being in someones house, and my wife was never too keen on having strangers around.

At some point, it got to be a drag, with people cancelling w/o notice, and coming home to teach, and get everything ready was a pain after toiling all day.