Anyone train MA who previously has broken a femur?

Jescalito

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the forum and new to martial arts. I have been training in Krav Maga for two months and just about a week ago I began taking some Muay Thai. I got involved in MA mostly because I wanted to learn how to defend myself in the event of a violent altercation. I am enjoying every bit of it and feel great.

About ten years ago I was in an automobile accident in which I shattered my femur. It was completely reconstructed and fused together around a titanium rod.

So my hopes are I can overcome some of my limitations, for instance I have little power in my left push kicks and snap kick. I can just manage a switch round or a left round with no real power or speed, just enough to say I did it.

I have noticed less pain in this leg and more strength since I began training so I don't worry much about injury.

I'm curious if anyone has sustained a similar injury, what system of MA do you train? Does the style you train in conflict with your injury in any way?

Do you feel like you have over come any of your limitations?

Transk53

The Dark Often Prevails
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the forum and new to martial arts. I have been training in Krav Maga for two months and just about a week ago I began taking some Muay Thai. I got involved in MA mostly because I wanted to learn how to defend myself in the event of a violent altercation. I am enjoying every bit of it and feel great.

About ten years ago I was in an automobile accident in which I shattered my femur. It was completely reconstructed and fused together around a titanium rod.

So my hopes are I can overcome some of my limitations, for instance I have little power in my left push kicks and snap kick. I can just manage a switch round or a left round with no real power or speed, just enough to say I did it.