Please help me to find my martial art

lonewolfonline

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I few years ago (tail end of 2005) I was about to start Krav maga training, unfortunately in early 2006 I was involved in a serious car crash (not my fault!) which I am only now starting to get back to a normal life.

I have no experience with martial arts, but I would really like to take up one, but due to my injuries I feel that Krav maga is no longer an option, possibly any contact sport.

My main concern is my left wrist, which I have so far had four operations to reconstruct. I am unable to lift heavy weights nor can I even do push-ups. I have good range of movement but limited dexterity. I have a metal plate, ~16 screws and I have had ligament reconstruction and tendon grafts. I also have a bad knee; the crash shattered my right kneecap and partially severed the tensions on both left and right knees.

I have looked at Tae Kwon Do, my sister is a red tag and her step mum a black belt, but I feel that his is not for me, and because the stances require balance and strength I don't think my knees or wrist will allow these forms of MA. I also think there would be a high chance of a fall, or even a minor action, which could further injury my wrist.

Normal day-to-day activities are fine as long as I avoid heavy lifting or putting stress through my left wrist. I can run or cycle a short distance before my knee starts to give pain. Apart from a lack of dexterity and strength my wrist doesn't cause many problems unless I hold anything heavy or hold my hand "palm up" for a sustained time.

I have been a collector of swords for years now; I have a few broadswords and a katana, wakizashi and tanto, all with a rat tail tangs.

I have just purchased a practical katana, for display purposes, but since owning it I have decided that I would really like to learn how to use it.