Another food post...

TheOriginalName

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey all...

I've been training for 4 months now in an MMA (based on karate) and i love it. It has turned my life around.

The problem is that i need to start eating healthy....which i have never done. And to compound the problem i'm not a cooking type person - that is i can cook really well but it's always a job not a joy.

So i'm looking for quick and easy ideas for reciepes.
Yes, i have gone to the book shops and looked around but have so far not found one titles "Reciepes for mid-20s single males who don't like fruit and veg"...which basically describes me.

I've started to change my diet - get the sugar intake down - and i know its going to be long and hard....so any ideas\reciepes or anything else would be appreciated...

Cheers

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Congratulations on turning your life around and starting a new path ;)

I will be adding more suggestions and ideas for you later as I'm sure other people will.

Number one - buy a crockpot if you don't already own one. Don't buy one too large as food should fill at least 2/3 of the pot or it'll burn.

Do you not like any veggies at all? If there are some you like, the microwave is your friend. In fact, Cornell University nutrition types recommend microwaving veggies as most of the nutrients stay intact with microwave steaming.

Basic Beef in a Crockpot: Wash some potatoes, cut in half, and layer in bottom of crockpot (leave peel on); add one pound of cheap steak like round steak; pour one can of Campbell's Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup or other soup over top. Cover and cook at high for about 6 hours or on low for 8 - 10 hours. You could dump in a bag of baby carrots, too. You could do something similar with chicken and Cream of Chicken soup, mushroom soup, etc. Never use frozen meats though - they'll often grow bacteria during the slow crockpot process.