zDom

Senior Master
Reaction score

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Check out www.blackhawk.com

I've been using their SERPA holster for a while now and love it. Oh, and I've been using two, one for a 1911 and one for a G 17/18.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
Check out www.blackhawk.com

I've been using their SERPA holster for a while now and love it. Oh, and I've been using two, one for a 1911 and one for a G 17/18.

Same here. The retention is a great thing on the Serpa holster. Not to mention it forces you to index on the frame.

Andy Moynihan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
People's Banana Republic of Massachusettstan, Disu
Looks OK if you are standing (in the above pic) but what if you sit?

Are there any safe, comfortable concealed rigs for a full-sized auto (i.e., SIG P226)?

I've had no problem with a S&W J-frame size snubbie in mine standing, sitting, running or even once practicing rollouts/breakfalls with it on. I had a larger one where I was even able to stuff a fullsize Glock 21 in it and could still drive and sit, it took an untucked polo to make it unnoticeable but it *is* doable if you wanna do that with the P226( Comparable size but the Glock 21 was wider so it may be a bit easier for you). The owner of that company carries a full size 1911 in his ( though I'm not brave enough for "Condition One" carry of a 1911 in such a holster myself).

Just remember that this is not a quickdraw holster, it's a deep concealment holster, and as such is still better for medium to small frame guns.

You will probably need to use H2H or another method to create space and distance to draw( and hey, maybe you'll get lucky and that will end the show then and there), or get behind cover, or discreetly access it prior to beginning festivities if you know something's about to go sideways and can't get away.

More realistically for a full size gun like yours....