Age survey

paco99

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm going to be 40 in a couple months, and I just started BJJ in May of this year. I'm trying to convince some friends to join who are a couple years older, and they think it's crazy to even consider in their 40s.

However, I'm trying to convince them that they should look into it as long as they are in shape and don't have any major medical problems.

How old is everyone on here who practices Grappling/ BJJ/ or Wrestling?

When did you start?

Thanks,

paco

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I don't practice it but don't have any qualms about picking it up if I can find a qualified instructor in my area... and I'm 47 at this moment.

Tell your friends that you're never too old to pick up any type of MA. If they don't believe it... :idunno:.... their loss.

PictonMA

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've only been doing BJJ formally for a couple years, but I've been studying Ju Jutsu and Judo since 1992.

I have people join my club all the time well into their 30s, 40s and even 50s. Age never has to be a limiting factor.

lklawson

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I started doing C&E at about 35 and segued from Aikido into Judo at about 38. My Judo club has just promoted a Brown Belt who is a grandfather (who started with his teenage grandson) and if he's a day under 60 I'll eat my hat.

Tell your friends to stop being scared little girls.

Peace favor your sword,
Kirk

Dave Leverich

Black Belt
Reaction score
I started MMA (& no-gi BJJ) about 2 years ago, 38 now.
One thing, if they train hard, they will hurt... all the time heh. Until their bodies get used to the duress that is (took me about 6-8 months to adapt). I use fish oil (2/meal) glucosamine/chondroitan 2/day, ibuprofen etc etc. The supplements really seem to help.

I don't hurt now, after a couple years at it, and I'm in better shape than I was 10 years ago. Tell them to nut up ;).

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score