Advanced Training

OP
A

A.R.K.

I can think of some examples;

If you are proficient in a particular system and then begin training in a different type of system, that could be consider advanced. For example, I have a friend in Uechi-ryu which is a fine system but focuses mainly on the block/strike/kick aspect. Not exclusively but by and large it has no ground fighting/grappling applications. He will soon begin training with me in those areas.

Specialty courses. For example, I am a Police Academy Instructor. I have been very blessed to be able to attend LEO-instructor only courses given by some very elite individuals. This would in my opinion constitute advanced training. You can appreciate the opportunity to spend 40 hours or more mat time with Joe Hess, Moti Horenstein, Tony Lambria, Tony Blauer, Sir Peter Boatman, Jack Stern etc etc. That is quite a wealth of information to tap into.

This is some ideas from personal experience.

OP
D

Disco

Thank you for your reply. Yes I can see where alternate training outside of your primary style could/would be considered advanced training. My apology for making to general of a question. My revised question; advanced training within the style you currently study. Several people have referenced the term within the context of their posts. I am assuming that they mean within the practiced discipline.

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
If you start beginner's level training in another system while having advanced training in another, that does not make the new training "advanced," just different. It may make your responses more unpredictable to people who have been training alongside of you in the dojo, and to their perception you may seem to have weaponry in your arsenal that is different from theirs, but it isn't necessarily "advanced." Just different.

Gambarimasu.
:asian:

OP
S

Shinzu