A teenager walks in to your school...

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
A teenager walks in to your school....and calmly asks to challenge you.

You ask why?

He says he's self-taught, and he's recently challenged masters in a nearby town. He doesn't say the name of the school, but he says the style, and the town. He says he's held his own.

You gaze at his build, and notice that he is athletic. You ask how old he is, he says he is 15.

The teen talks to you clearly, calmly, and quietly. He doesn't raise his voice, and speaks very confidently and in a matter-of-fact fashion.

What do you do from there?

Boomer

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Accept his challenge if you are the one who sets the rules to the "match". When he agrees to this stipulation, explain to him that the match will be decided by a game of rock, paper, scissors.
If he hasn't already left, explain to him that martial arts are a path of self discipline, not one of glory seekers. And tell him to stop using Clearasil...it causes TOO much confidence.

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, Do people still act like that? This teenager still needs to grow up. Most likely had a bad role model? or wants to brag or prove he can fight?

First of all I would tell him "NO" and politely ask him to leave. If he persists' time to call 911.

To reason with someone who does not have any common sense can be useless? Watches too many martial movies?

I also would watch my back a few days,weeks.

Always be humble, be nice, and ask him to leave. Let him know that is NOT our way.

Remember if challenge? You will need to prepare to fight to the death?
Who knows what he may do to you? (avoidance is the best answer).

Guys like this may lose and come back a few months/years later for revenge...a never ending story here.

Hope this is NOT real here? ............Aloha

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score