Whats parts of Ninjutsu can actually be traced to be true?

OP
K

kip42

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have been training weekly in the Bujinkan arts for a year now. All the stuff that I have learned, technique and philosphy seem street smart. I like how we attack naturally weak areas on an enemy. I studied MMA, karate forms, Tae Kwon Do, various forms of boxing and competition arts and none of them impressed me. I like the concepts of adapting, training in real world enviornments, learning to read your oppoents intensions, learning and using his weaknesses against him, fighting to win. I dont think any of the techniques seemed questionable. Not sure how this could be so effective but be accused of so many bad things. The con is I have never used or tryed them with a resisting opponent. Seems like a hit to a vital area or two will turn them into a less than resisting oppinent. I truly enjoy this art but fear things that I hear such as "Hatsumi charges alot of money t train with him, comes to class 30 mins late, forces you to watch a video for some of the class and claim its enough, then goes to party seminars where many advance to high ranks as well as collecting money for a statue of his instructor.

I truly want to learn the techniques that are truly real if any exist. If none exist I would like to train if this stuff works on the street and avoid the politics. I would also love to know who developed this and why they lied if they did.
I have a very good instuctor but want some more answers and dont know if I should ask him.

I would still study the Bujinkan if I knew it worked on the street dispite its possibility of not being real. I truly want a street smart method of defense. If Bujinkan doesnt work, I will go back to Krav Maga. Its just hard to think that the hitting of vulernable areas and the strategy behind Ninjutsu wouldnt work very well on the street?

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score