Writing an article on martial arts school scams

sadan

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a martial arts instructor (TKD) and also am an attorney. Last week I was asked by a friend to help out with an issue concerning a martial arts contract and was incredibly disturbed by what I saw. I'm surprised not to see more information about what might be a system in which an increasing number of martial arts schools may be run (and concerns long term contracts) -- and I don't mean in a positive straightforward way.

As a result, I've started to put together an article to help people who hope to join a legitimate martial arts school identify and avoid schools that are likely to either be a fraud, engaging in fraud, questionable practice or other issue which may not be disclosed and will only serve to disappoint and deject a student later. Topics include:

- the McDojo and purported martial art being taught
- the belting game (a very large number of "stripes" resulting in many belt tests which cost $$$)
- what does it mean to have a black belt instructor and who "certifies" that they are what they claim to be?
- dangerous contracts, such as unusually extended commitments
- claims of "certification" for students (and what does that really mean)

I'd enjoy (sadly) hearing some of the scams and misleading practices that you've encountered in the hope of trying to help people identify schools that they should avoid.

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I like the idea, put all them on a black list... close all the BS... :D

Then the first issue is defining scam. There is so much diversity in the offer and demand that it is hard to define minimum standards or something.

Examples:
"Belting game" - When it becomes large number? People selling it says they are honest and it is optional and a supplement to compensate low prices per class/month. At the same time, some non-ranked styles ask for quite a lot of money upfront.