Why did you leave Shotokan?

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I've been reading alot of great opinons, and wealth of infomation here, and I am very grateful to MT for having the board available to us "newbies" in Martial Arts. When you don't have people around you into Martial Arts, it's difficult to get answers to some questions. (Although, being an old guys in class, I'm not shy about asking "Why?")

I have been studing Shotokan for a couple years, and find it suits me now. It was not a choice on my part, simply where I went first.

In reading several posts, and profiles, I see that some of you started in/taught Shotokan.

My question is this:

If you "began" in Shotokan, what caused you to leave/change?

Was it the school?
Was it the instructor?
Was it the Art?
Did you earn your Black Belt, then change?
Did it not provide you what you were looking for?

Old Fat Kenpoka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I did Shotokan for a couple years in college. I left for two reasons:

1) It is not very practical. Movements are too linear, too traditional and not very street effective.

2) It has got to be one of the most boring systems I have ever seen. Once you learn Kanku Dai, there really isn't anything else to learn.

OP
O

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by Old Fat Kenpoka
I did Shotokan for a couple years in college. I left for two reasons:

1) It is not very practical. Movements are too linear, too traditional and not very street effective.

Could you elaborate on this a little more? My instructor has us moving around our opponents, picking our targets, and moving again. How is this not effective?

2) It has got to be one of the most boring systems I have ever seen. Once you learn Kanku Dai, there really isn't anything else to learn.

Boring? Not yet, but as I said, only a couple years myself.