What should I look for in a Tai Chi instructor/school?

SimSportPlyr

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm about to try out a Tai Chi school or two.

I don't know what to look for in terms of finding a 'good' school and instructor.

My interests are primarily in fitness/health, vs martial applications, although I would enjoy also learning the martial applications.

I hope that the question I'm asking is not over vague.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Blaze Dragon

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I'm not an expert and many question the school I spent most of my time learning Taijiquan from...that being said. This is my personal take on looking for a taijiquan school...

I'm not big on origin or lineage, it's either good or it's not. The way you find that out is take a class. many places have free or reduced rate introductory stuff. Meet the sifu, see if you click.

Ask them to explain what taijiquan is and how it works.
Ask them what Qi is
Ask them if they do Qigong and or breathing and meditation

My sifu says "Without Qi, there is no Taiji." To truely get health benefit from taijiquan, and again this is my opinion. You need to develop your skills correctly, taijiquan is an internal art, the works on you from the inside out, the breathing and intent is just as important as the actual physical move.

Things to watch out for, does the teacher ONLY teach taijiquan? Many schools are slapping a taijiquan form into their school with no real training, you'll see 24 most often and is the go to, so that schools can say they offer it.

Ask what other forms of taijiquan they teach, ask what style of taijiquan. Wu? Chen? Yang? Sun? Wu? (yes their are two wus). There are other schools of taijiquan such as Wudang style, but the main five are those I listed.