What is the typical 'Agro' situation in your locality?

Bod

Purple Belt
Reaction score
In the multiple opponent thread I asked what was the typical situations that violent encounters took in different locations.

Is there any typical or most common type of violence that you know of in your area?

Mostly where I come from (South London) I have experienced or seen numerous muggings, with or without knives present, mostly young males on young males, the next step on from schoolyard bullying. I've seen snatch and runs from trains many times, and I've ran into people involved in burglaries.

This might have something to do with the fact I don't drive.

Every now and then I've been involved in breaking up fist-fights in pubs (I worked as a barman for a while) and I once broke up a fight in a mini riot (bricks being thrown at a MacDonalds during a demonstration). That was a lot more rare.

A couple of times I've had personal one on one trouble, but I guess that is the same everywhere, and all those conflicts got resolved sensibly. Then again in different parts of the world I guess people take these things more seriously.

Samurai

Blue Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Where I live (in a very small town in Indiana USA) the biggest crime is JAYWALKING.

Maybe, someone will stay out past the town curfew. Once or twice someone shoplifted from a little dug store.

I still train in the martial arts for several reasons. The biggest reason is that I wish to better myself.
Thanks
Jeremy Bays

H

Hansson

Stockholm, Sweden:

Muggings, often with knife
Bar brawling, most of the time without weapons (in the other cases - knives)
Some youth gang assaults on innocents but that's unusual

F

fanged_seamus

Northern Delaware (Wilmington, New Castle, Newark):

Despite having a relatively low population, we have an outrageous crime rate. The most common assault crimes are:

1) Sexual assault
2) Muggings (2+ attackers) at gun point (less commonly, knives)