Want to study FMA in the Philippines but live in the USA

Samaelfff

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I am new to the board and I am glad I found it. Tons of info here.

I have been studying FMA for a couple of years now with a local instructor and a few other students, here in Washington State. It is a "garage" style learning environment where we can really focus on interacting with the teacher and getting tips on application and the like. However, we can only get together about once a week and finding training partners locally is difficult. So I try to feed my need watching YouTube videos, scrolling message boards, and swinging my sticks.

Over time I have progressed a bunch but I could really use an intense influx of knowledge and training. I would really like to take some pto from work and go to the Philippines for a month and just train. Day in and day out. Akin to heading to a Shaolin monastery to learn from the monks. . Has anyone here done this before? It's not like I can hire a travel agent to book rooms and instructors for me so I'm tossing this out there to see if I can get some suggestions on how to map this all out. Who to contact locally? Where to stay? Where the greatest density of folks who do Kali AND take no issue with training a white guy from the states live? Should I go to Manila area or head south toward Cebu? Etc.

Any help would be appreciated as this is one hell of a task. I am hoping to do this within the next two years.

Thank you

Anarax

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
It is a "garage" style learning environment where we can really focus on interacting with the teacher and getting tips on application and the like. However, we can only get together about once a week and finding training partners locally is difficult.
Sounds like a good place to train. Have you discussed training more with your instructor?

So I try to feed my need watching YouTube videos, scrolling message boards, and swinging my sticks.