Wado-ryu watered down version of shotokan ?

datisstom

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to MA and started wado karate a couple of weeks ago. I am starting to have my doubts about this style however.
Before joining any MA school I joined some trainings, and I did a shotokan training as well. I know wado has its origins in shotokan and jiu-jitsu, but I noticed a couple of things. First, shotokan seems much tougher than wado. Second, in shotokan the karatekas did body hardening, wich we don't do at all when practicing wado. Third, Lyoto Machida. I think Machida wouldn't stand a chance in MMA if he had been practicing wado.

It seems to me that wado is just a watered down version of the real karate, which is shotokan/kyokushin. Am I right thinking this?

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
One important thing to think first:
Is it the Style, or the Instructor?

Because while it may be a Wado Ryu Dojo, the Teacher may not be adequately teaching Wado Ryu. Look around, go watch some other Systems Dojos. It may be that this particular Dojo is whats watered down, and thats what Id be looking at.

Also, Shotokan and Kyokushin are so vastly different, that You really shouldnt be comparing one system to them both :)

OP
D

datisstom

White Belt
Reaction score
One important thing to think first:
Is it the Style, or the Instructor?

Because while it may be a Wado Ryu Dojo, the Teacher may not be adequately teaching Wado Ryu. Look around, go watch some other Systems Dojos. It may be that this particular Dojo is whats watered down, and thats what Id be looking at.

Also, Shotokan and Kyokushin are so vastly different, that You really shouldnt be comparing one system to them both :)

I'm not talking about my dojo. I'm talking about the style in general.

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm not talking about my dojo. I'm talking about the style in general.
Well, that was impossible to tell from Your post.

Working on that;