Training with Weights and Trainers? Whats wrong with my Training plan?

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Im just beginning to train at home usually each morning or afternoon when I come home from collage.
When I train I've started using ankle weights and wearing trainers. I wear trainers so that it resembles a self defence situation and I wear weights to build up my leg muscles however I'm finding that doing some of my balance exercises (such as lifting the leg slowly to a horizontal point level with the hip and holding it there for 30 seconds) is very difficult and I'm getting fustrated with the fact I usually have amost perfect balance but now I can hardly stay up at all.
Is it worth wearing weights?
Is it worth wearing trainers and will either really benefit me that much in the long run?

An example of a days training plan for me is:

7.00Am
Sprinting around the block.
Sitting Stance 50 single punches, 20 Double punches
20 Leg Raises (fowards and horizontally)
Then hold for 30 seconds each leg in a side kick
Thigh to waist leg raises
Stretches
TKD patterns

After collage

Sprinting around the block
20 knee raises each leg followed by another 20 knee raises
20 Sidekicks (10 straight off, 10 through chambering the leg)
20 Turning Kicks (10 straight off, 10 through chambering the leg)
10 Outer crescent kicks, inwards and outwards both legs.

Stretching include Hamstring stretch, Soles together stretch, stretching down etc

If I do wear weights and trainers when would it be most appropiate to do so? Say in the morning or afternoon?

Regards
Nick

Zepp

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The woods of Marin County, California, USA
I don't think time of day matters a whole lot (unless your'e really stiff in the morning). I've used wrist and ankle weights before to help build up my stamina quickly.