Completely new to martial arts -- questions

CMack11

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Sorry, I'm sure everybody gets bugged all the time about this, but I'm completely new to the martial arts world, and had some questions.

I'm located in Austin, TX, and I am taking some free classes at different places and have had recommendations from other people. A couple of people recommended Shaolin-Do to start off, and if I remained interested, to specialize at a different school. I'm taking a class at Jeff Hughes' Central Texas Kung Fu Exchange next week. Being that I am a 28 year old beginner, would learning the 7* mantis style be to difficult for a true beginner? Does anybody know any other good places in Austin to look? Does the 7* style suit a certain body type? I'm about 5'10" and 160 lbs w/ a small frame. Is there any other style more suited for me?

Thanks for your time in advance.

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Shaolin do with the deadly Sin Tie???

Classic bad film come to life

OP
CMack11

CMack11

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Thanks. clfsean, I sent you an email with some off-line questions I had, I hope you don't mind.

Gin-Gin

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm a little biased, but I think you should check out the Kenpo schools in our area - specifically, Michael Billings' Kenpo Karate (at www.kenpo-texas.com). The website has a lot of info, but it's also best to come to the school and watch a couple of classes. One of the reasons I love Kenpo is that it is a flexible art (at least in some schools) and can be tailored to your specific body type. If you have any questions, feel free to PM me or e-mail Mr. Billings [his e-mail address is on the website]. Good Luck in your search!

Sincerely,
Gin-Gin :D

C

Chicago Green Dragon

Gin-Gin said: