Too old for dynamic tension?

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
Many years ago before I began Wing Tsun I studied some hakka based kung fu. One of the forms was a crane form much like the Okinawan san chin form, so it consisted of dynamic tension throughout the form.
I'm now 55 years old and have been toying around with the idea of training this form again for the exercise.
Am I too old for this? I remember hearing that as you get older that this type of training is bad for the blood pressure.
Anybody here have some insight?

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
To breath calm and normal is the best way to low your blood pressure.

- Hold your breath and lift weight,
- Stand upside down,

can increase your eye pressure.

hoshin1600

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hey @yak sao
There is nothing wrong with dynamic tension. I am about the same age as you and I have no problems. There are many Uechi-ryu masters here in the states who are now 70 to 80' with. No problem.
The issue with blood pressure is when it is done in a certain way with the breath. I have heard of issues when doing forms the way Goju-ryu does it. But when done in the more common Chinese way, I do not think there is an issue. What style and form are you thinking of? Is there a clip you can post?
I just woke up so I cant give a really in depth answer right now.
My advise is like was mentioned breath easy and natural rather than holding the breath. There is a breathing qi practice sometimes called "packing breathing" to "pack" the organs where you hold the breath and put pressure in the stomach area. This is what I would avoid. You don't really need to do this ,you get a lot of benifit from the tension in the limbs and you can tighten the stomach without the internal pressure.

Last edited:

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hey @yak sao