Thinking of Taking Up Muay Thai

LoneRider

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Greetings. I'm thinking of taking up Muay Thai within the next three years. I've been practicing Wing Chun for nearly three years now and another summary of my martial experience is on this thread:

http://www.martialtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?p=963073#post963073

Any suggestions for conditioning for Muay Thai? When my ship (I'm in the Navy) gets our gym equipment back, I'll really be able to do all my bag work.

Also, is there any sort of body hardening I can do to toughen up my shins. I know that the power angle kick especially uses the shin as a striking surface.

Regards,

Lone Rider

no_kata

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Repeatedly doing round kicks is the only real way to strengthen your shin bones and to deaden the nerves. DO NOT roll your shins. Watch one video on Youtube of a Thai fighter's shin snapping in half and you'll know why. I've heard the required daily number of kicks for both legs to increase bone density is 100 per leg but that's just one man's theory. Eventually you will feel that the bone has changed it's shape and it will take on a sharper feel at the base of the shin.

Also there is no real way to condition for Muay Thai. Nothing you do will prepare you for this kind of cardio demand. The only way I can come close to describing to people what a real Muay Thai workout is comparable to is running a marathon of sprints. Going into Muay Thai in good condition will only improve your rate of success though.

FieldDiscipline

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
You can wrap a broom handle in rubber or use something similar to roll up and down your shins for some time (ike weeks), then remove the rubber and do the same thing some more.

Then get someone to support the broom handle upright while you gently tap it with shin kicks up and down your shins.

I am reliably informed this is a good way to condition the shins. Be progressive and take your time.