Technique Reps

K

Kenpo Wolf

Hello people. I was curious as to how many tehnique reps does the average kenpoist do during training sessions, either solo or in class, and is there special method employed.

Personally, I make use of Chuck Norris's graduated speed drills. For those that don't know what this is, you take a technique and practice it slow motion, half speed, full speed and then red line speed, which is doing it as fast as you possibly can. Although you lose form at this speed, it's excellent for cardio. This is my pattern

Slow Motion 5 Reps
Half Speed 5 Reps
Full Speed 10 Reps
Red Line 5 Reps
Full Speed 5 Reps

Since there is a loss of form at red line speed, I do the final rep at full speed to finish the reps with good form. If I'm just learning a technique or having problem with one, I double up the slow motion and half speed reps and drop the red line and the second full speed reps. So in total, I usually pull off 30 reps per techique, sometimes less. How does this compare with your reps?

That's too kewl! I never thought of doing that, thanks for the
tip!

Originally posted by Kenpo Wolf

Slow Motion 5 Reps
Half Speed 5 Reps
Full Speed 10 Reps
Red Line 5 Reps
Full Speed 5 Reps

We do that with forms.