Tai Chi vs. MMA from Daoist Gate - Blog Post

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
You should never have to take someone's word that you can use martial arts to fight with.

It is like an adult creepy version of this.

Last edited:

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
My look on it is you can either train to fight or don't. Just don't lie to yourself about which one you are doing.

It is not realistic to think that you can be really good at something you don't train. That's the story that China needs to stop telling. Even after the embarrassment they claim that kung fu is a killing art.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Apparently a video went viral and sent ripples thru the martial arts community? I didn't get the memo. Or the virus...

Kurt L.

White Belt
Reaction score
The guy was a masseuse by trade, wasn't he? I'm pretty new to Tai Chi, but it sounds like the "woo woo" was held to account.

mograph

Master of Arts
Reaction score
As a former tai chi guy, I find these events uncomfortable on a number of levels:
  • truth: most tai chi teachers know nothing of martial arts.
  • tai chi as a fighting art is dying, and I don't know if it will survive.
  • tai chi people have been embarrassed by the MMA artist, and as above, we are embarrassed because of the truth.
  • there is a childish disrespect and self-aggrandizement shown by this man and many MMA followers, which, along with an increased desire for immediate gratification, I see increasing in the industrialized world. There's nothing wrong with MMA, I just don't like how it seems to attract more a-holes than traditional CMA/JMA/FMA and so on do. Patience and diligence seems to be dying. Maybe this is nothing new, since other arts used to attract a-holes. Maybe the whole process is just faster now.