Sword Trainer??

fangjian

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
I have been trying to find a certain type of trainer sword for some time now.

What I'm looking for, is a trainer blade that gives a genuine feel to that of a real blade and can make contact with other swords. My background is Filipino Martial Arts, so I am looking for say, Ginunting, Bolo, Barong etc. I do have much experience in Chinese Martial Arts as well, so if the only one I can get is a 'Jian' or something, that would be fine.

I see that most trainer blades are made of aluminum, and with good reason, of course. However, they don't give that 'sound' when struck to another blade, if you know what I mean. And again, I could of course use something else ( other than Filipino ), like a Jian, or a Wakizashi, etc.

Any one know of any supply sites that offer what I'm looking for?

Thanks

lklawson

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Get a properly heat treated steel blade, unsharpened. Leave it that way. Presto! Instant "trainer."

If you're planning on doing live steel drills with other folks, use appropriate precautions.

Peace favor your sword,
Kirk

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I have a lot of training blades from polymer to aluminum, etc. However, my best Filipino training blades came from Jerson Tortal Jr. who had them made by the same smith that made my real blades. They are identical except unsharpened. So they are pure copies of the origional but safe for training. That is definitely the way to go for a perfect match.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I have a pair of these:
http://www.valleymartialarts.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_33&products_id=1333