Switching from Boxing to MT..

TwoFistedPiston

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi my 1st post here. Im 19 and Ive been boxing for 9 years with over 50 amatuer fights at the highest level and i plan on switching to muay thai for afew fights atleast. Just wondering if the switch to MT is that big?? When watching MT fights Ive noticed, especially in the amatuers, the punching isnt great so I could have an advantage here more than likely. Im always in training for fights so my fitness is grand, i would just be working on kicking & knees and technique like the clinching etc.. Would 4 months of techniwque work be enough to go into my first MT fight??

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Good luck! Having the kicks/knees/elbows in there changes the game more than you might think. With your experience you might be OK, but take a while to see how defending these new attacks changes your stance, guard, etc. before deciding anything.

David Weatherly

Black Belt
Reaction score
One of the biggest changes for you will be mindset. You'll have to shift your thinking and work on integrating the fact that you suddenly have additional "weapons" in your arsenal.

Best of luck.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It is a change but I am sure you will enjoy it!
icon14.gif

OP
T

TwoFistedPiston

White Belt
Reaction score
Yeah im thinking the hardest part will be defending against the kicks and a new stance and finding the right stance for myself!

Thanks to all!

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score