strength excercises you use

J

jkdhit

i was just curious what sort of strength excercises all of you use. i guess i'll start first..

for arms, i used to use 5lb weights on each arm and did various excercises such as curls, hammer curls, preacher curls, reverse curls, and dumbell extensions. then i started doing the same but using 55lb weights on each arm. i noticed a quick gain with the 55lb weights, my muscle started to become noticeably larger and more dense in only about 2 weeks.

after a while i started losing muscle mass in my arms and just didnt have the motivation to build it up again. then i started practicing qigong and i had noticed a giant increase in muscle mass in just 2 weeks.i had noticed mainly my chest and arms were becoming more muscular, firm, and the muscle has become very dense.

as for legs, i've been using canvas bags filled with mung beans to beat the sides and front of my legs and in less than a week, they've become noticeably firm.

does anyone else have any specific excercises, routines, etc?

OP
B

BaktoBasics

Wrong exercises. Example, bicep exercises are usually isolation exercises. Also, the bicep is a pull muscle and so, getting a stronger bicep is not relevant to punching unless you use pulling movements in your art. Having said that, for pulling movements, you use your lats, back and abs.

For strength, I do: Weighted dips, Bench press, Deadlifts and Squats (also weighted sit ups and cable crunches).

For power, I do: Power cleans, clean and jerk, snatches and explosive bench press and squats (most power comes from your core and legs - even punching power).

A good exercise for pulling strength and reverse grip chin ups as they work your bi's and lats.

The above exercises are great because they are compound movements. They use lots of muscles and condition your body to use lots and muscles at the same time.

For example, doing curls only uses the bicep. Doing reverse grip chin ups uses your bi's and back.