Sport poomsae?

miguksaram

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I would contact the tournament director directly and ask this question. After looking through their rules, I did not see anywhere what they define as sport vs. traditional. I can only guess that they mean doing a traditional form with more theatrical type performance behind it or perhaps, they mean forms that involve inverted moves. Again, your best bet is to contact them directly and get their definition.

OP
V

vegas101

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion I just finished hammering out that email and hope that they get back to me soon. Also could you explain what you meant by inverted moves, not familiar with that?

Archtkd

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey Martial Talkers, this is my first time posting. Ok so there is a tournament coming up in a few months and I have not competed in a while or stayed up to date with the changes so I have a question about one of the competition events, what is the diffrence between "traditional poomsae" and "sport poomsae".
http://pag.ncsports.org/userfiles/file/2012%20Competition%20Handbook.pdf
\

Welcome to MT. This topic has been handled for years on various threads. It might be helpful for you to peruse through the taekwondo forum to get better ideas on the subject.

miguksaram

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion I just finished hammering out that email and hope that they get back to me soon. Also could you explain what you meant by inverted moves, not familiar with that?
Inverted moves means flips and tricks in their forms. Here is an example. This is one of our instructors performances at AKA Grand Nationals:

Good luck in getting your info. Let us know what you find out.

Last edited by a moderator:

ATC

Senior Master
Reaction score