Something becoming more serious?

Kamaria Annina

Green Belt
Reaction score
When I was young, during tennis practice at about the age of 12, I first experienced a black out due to dehydration.

Since then, I've experienced it more and more, sometimes it hits me hard, sometimes less, and I'll I need is food or water.

However, recently, I've beginning to get shaky, light headed, and experienced near black outs.

My friend is telling me to drink & eat more. But I don't think I'm satisfying what my body needs. I eat 3 good meals a day, and sometimes I will admit I slack on the water. Is this something I should be worried about?

calmone

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but that doesn't sound good have you seen a doctor yet? If you haven't I would do that as soon as possible.

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yes, go see a doctor as soon as possible. It might be as little as a supplement your body needs, but it should be checked out. TW

jfarnsworth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It can't be stressed enough to see a physician immediately if not sooner. There are a few on this board but there wouldn't be a direct diagnosis without being seen and/or blood work or something of that nature.

Feisty Mouse

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi Kamaria

I would *definetly* see a doctor. Low water content, or low blood sugar, might help trigger the blackouts/faint periods, but if you're not very dehydrated, and if you are eating pretty well, it very well could be something else.

I've been going through something similar - and my doctor did a pretty full work-up on me, including checking neurological probelms out. For me, it turns out to be stress-related. But it could be a wide number of things causing the problem.

Go get checked out, and let us know you are OK!

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Kamaria,