Sharing a story...

CNida

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'd like to share a story to everyone. Just for the heck of it, not to boast or puff my chest out. At the end, I'd love to hear some comments about what you think or maybe what you might have done differently in this situation, either in a matter of technique or otherwise.

For those that didn't know already, I work as a security guard at a local hospital, in a city of about 75,000. We regularly are tasked with supervision and observation of at risk individuals who are either experiencing suicidal ideation, suffering from an altered mental status, intoxicated or just plain hostile. We are not equipped with anything other than a pager and a radio, and are not provided any meaningful training from our employer.

Sunday night, during my noon to midnight shift, the county sheriff's deputy brought in a drunk guy who had made some suicidal statements. Apparently, the deputy had gotten into a scuffle with the man when trying to help him and was required utilize the taser. Once the patient was in his bed, the deputy wrote the man a ticket and left him in our "capable hands". He warned us, however, before he left, that the man escalated to violence at the flip of a light switch.

Now as a private security guard, who has no more ability or legal authority than a private citizen, we often have to tiptoe a VERY fine line. We can not detain anyone. We can not do anything with a patient unless it is something that a nurse or doctor has asked of us.

At any rate, the deputy was right. The guy's switch flipped and he was immediately up an posturing. My partner, who is as average sized as a guy can be I guess, was trying to calm the guy down. The drunk guy got in my partners face and began making threats to which my partner repeatedly thwarted verbally in an attempt to calm the guy down and keep him in his room.