Quitting smoking - need your support

meta

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm new to this forum, but I've been lurking here for a while, and it seems like you have a great community here. :)

I recently started Kyokushin, something that I wanted to do for years. I want to continue training for as long as I can. With this new goal in mind, I now feel motivated enough (for the first time) to quit smoking.

I've been a smoker for 7 years. I never noticed any adverse effects on my health until I started training. Kyokushin training is very demanding, and I often find myself out of breath, which is very frustrating and humiliating.

So yesterday I finally decided to quit. I read many useful articles (and forum posts) on quitting smoking, but I need others' support to help me overcome this habit. I can't really rely on the support of my friends, since many of them smoke. So I hope to find some support among fellow martial artists. I'll keep you posted on my progress, and I'd really appreciate any helpful advice.

Thanks a lot!

davemitchel

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Good luck meta,

when your fingers start reaching for 'the pack', go the PC instead and reach for the forum. Lots of interesting things here to get your mind off the evil sticks ...... :)

Dave

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The BEST of luck meta...I quit for 2 years, did it cold turkey..I was weak and started up again...Don't be weak...

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
I used Charms Blow Pops! :) It worked and I have been smoke free for over 3 1/2 years. Denstist loved my new habit. Lol. Eventually I did not need the lollie pos.

Good luck with it! The place I noticed it the most, was swimming under water. Ask a child I could hold me breath for at least a 45-60 secs. As an adult smoker, I was lucky if I could hold my breath for 15 seconds. You will noticed a drastic channge in your "workout breathing"

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score