questions about competitions in Kenpo

jujutsu_indonesia

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello, I am from Indonesia, and there are absolutely no American Kenpo dojos here, thus I have zero knowledge about American Kenpo.

I know only Shorinji Kempo, Shinto Tenshin Ko-ryu Kenpo and Nihon Kenpo (M. Sawayama) but not yet witnessed American Kenpo. (Well I have seen videos of Kosho-ryu but not the competition video just a demo video).

With that being said, I'd like to know about the competitions in Kenpo. Do you use WKF karate rules when competing in sparring? Do you have self-defense paired kata competitions just lke JJIF Jujutsu duo system? Do you have grappling competitions? Does your standup karate sparring format also allows judo throws? If this matter has been discussed before, could anyone please direct me to the appropriate thread? Thank you!

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Generally speaking, Kenpo is not really a competative sport. So the sparring that most schools do, are just training tools to improve timing and etc.

However, many schools do compete. Usually in the Karate tournaments. There are really not that many Kenpo tournaments around. Those that have had experience in those can give you some insight.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
For competition it just depends on the tournament and what the promoter feels like offering.

For sparring the most common is probably straight point fighting, no takedowns, it is "kenpo" usually because groin is usually a target, at least in the western US (at my last tournament I fought a kenpo guy from florida, and I must have popped him 4 times in the groin, he wasn't used to having that target open).

Other variations that I have seen:
Continuous light contact, no takedowns.

Continuous light contact, takedowns allowed (and points awarded for), no ground fighting.