Question

Paulie73

White Belt
Reaction score
I am currently studying Kenpo/Kosho and recently tested for rank. 1/2 of the test was all related to mma which the dojo does offer training in but I have no interest in. I know it has become very popular and a lot of centers are replacing their current curriculum with mma training, I just hope this ins't one of them. Anyone else out there experiencing this.

DavidCC

Master of Arts
Reaction score
It seems odd that you wuold be tested on optional material that you had not trained in. So I guess the question is - did you pass?

And what is "mma" specifically? Were they teaching groundfighting? kick-boxing? or something else? "mma" is a sport, not a style.

bowser666

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
If the school is amending their curriculum because they feel it will be helpful to their students , then embrace the training. If it is being done as a marketing tool then I would suggest finding another school. Curriculum for a certain style should not necessarily be altered. It can be supplemented however.

RevIV

Black Belt
Reaction score
It seems odd that you wuold be tested on optional material that you had not trained in. So I guess the question is - did you pass?

And what is "mma" specifically? Were they teaching groundfighting? kick-boxing? or something else? "mma" is a sport, not a style.

Testing people on things they may not know makes a test more interesting. Reactions are reactions so throwing a curve ball can show if your students are getting the general idea of what your teaching or just mimicking your moves..

ackks10

Purple Belt
Reaction score
jump ship,:) fine another school,to use a phase from Chuck Berry

"its you life baby, live like you want to live" (my ding a ling) :uhyeah:

DavidCC

Master of Arts
Reaction score