Question from a Newbie who doesn't take martial arts and is wondering...........

twinxsta

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello All,
I'm a newbie to the site and well I have a couple questions....First of all let me just let everyone know before you get to into this post that I do not practice Martial Arts however i have had an interest in it for quite some time and i'm seriously contemplating starting to study in the summer when i'm done with school....right now i'm a full time student working part time with some other hobbies that i'm into so time unfortunately isn't a luxury of mine........but so for some of my questions.....

1.) I know that there are many forms of Martial Arts but i'm wondering if anyone has any experience in a Martial Art that isn't an actual martial art but something that was developed by someone and is taught as a martial art. I know this is a weird question but i'm from the East Coast of the United States and the best example of this that I can come up with is "Nick Cerio's Kenpo" I don't know much about this but from what I've read and researched this was a self developed system by Nick Cerio that he developed after studying with numerous masters and numerous styles.

2.) I am quite out of shape but i am able to see my toes (hahaha) just wondering what to expect being a newbie in a school.......any advice or information would be greatly appreciated..........if you use AOL instant messenger you could IM me my screename is Twinxsta or if you would like to email me you could do that @ [email protected] or if you want to just reply here maybe someone else out there has the same concerns or question.......thanks to all who read and reply!

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Welcome to the board, twinxsta!

The one thing I can say is this: If you practice a martial art, you will enjoy better health, and have good times with the other students. I am not familiar with the Cerio system, so I cannot advise you about that.