Question about Thai pads holding

Shimo

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there. I'm new to Muay-Thai, although not to martial arts, and I was wondering if I'm doing it right on the Thai pads. I know you are not supposed to hold them together but rather touch the top parts and spread the bottom making an inverted V. But when the kicker kicks, does the holder have to feel the impact "equally" on both pads or is it normal for the impact to be much greater in only one of the pads? No matter how my training partner and I try we almost never hit both pads equally. Does that mean we are doing it wrong, maybe hitting too much with the instep or is this normal?

Also, while for a head kick you hold the pads basically 90 degrees in relation to the ground and higher up, for body kicks what should be the holding angle and height? 45 degrees and stomach height? Or somewhere in between 45 and 90 degrees? I feel like holding it 45 degrees feels almost like doing a front kick rather than a roundhouse kick because to hit the pads the motion has to be very upwards.

Thanks in advance and sorry if the questions are too basic.

OP
S

Shimo

White Belt
Reaction score
42 views and nobody replied? Come on folks. :)

Nibla

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Ok I'll give it a go. I've been told to hit the front pad more, and for me this involved pulling the hip on the other side rather than trying to push the hip in.

Do you have a trainer? He would be best to correct your technique.

With the 45 kick, the leg comes up and hip turns over as it nears the body. Just kick it like you would a bag.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ok I'll give it a go. I've been told to hit the front pad more, and for me this involved pulling the hip on the other side rather than trying to push the hip in.

With the 45 kick, the leg comes up and hip turns over as it nears the body. Just kick it like you would a bag.