Principles of movement in Taijutsu - Part I -

P

phlux

This is just a first go. Let me know what you think of this beginning;

- Part I -

There is something that I have been thinking about for some time - and that is the actual principles we use in our execution of Taijutsu.

First a disclaimer - I am a student of Bujinakan - and started my training about 12 years ago, but during that time I took a few years off. I was not actively going to any dojo for several years. I am back and active in the Bujinkan now and I have a very clear picture of where I am and where I want to be. And that picture is this: I know nothing - I know what good movement feels like - and I want to master movement in this body.

Back to the post at hand - Principles. We continually boast that Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is not about techniques - but about principles of movement. It’s about an understanding of being and how the body moves and works that makes our movement work - the techniques are just the form that the movement takes when in any given situation.

So, with that said, I am hoping to actually define what these "Principles" are that we are talking about.

Lets start with the basics;

What is Taijutsu: Taijutsu translated is “Skill with the Body”

We see that the basis of the Taijutsu system is studying of movement through the Human Form. An important aspect of this concept that is obvious – but may be often overlooked is that Martial Arts in general and Taijutsu in specific is a study of skill in which we are the tool. We are learning how to use a tool that we actually are. This is very important as we need to realize that the fundamental difference in using a tool and being a tool – is the level of conscious awareness we are capable of during application.

In our body – we can be conscious of every cell, aware of the exact position and angle of every joint.