Posture in Shotokan

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to Shotokan karate. I've never had good posture, so this is difficult for me in practicing karate. Any suggestions?

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to Shotokan karate. I've never had good posture, so this is difficult for me in practicing karate. Any suggestions?

JB---what is the specific problem you have with your posture? What kinds of problems does this cause you in doing karate?

OP
JBrainard

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
JB---what is the specific problem you have with your posture? What kinds of problems does this cause you in doing karate?

Well, especially when punching, my back feels strait but I am actually leaning forward.

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score
I've got the same sort of problem, so your not alone...
I am constantly correcting myself, especially when in zenkutsu dachi during a kata.
My Sensei recommended thinking of it like this: Try to visualize your upper half sitting in a chair while your legs move...
He said that to me in regards to kokutsu dachi, but I have used the visualization for zenkutsu as well, and it seems to work...
Hope that helps some...

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Sounds like you are diving into your punches. Relax the shoulder and forget body rotation for now. Stop trying to ht hard and concentrate on form. You will find that once you achieve proper carriage. You will be hitting harder and expending less energy.
Sean

Nomad

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Practice. Practice in front of a mirror. Practice in front of a partner who will let you know whether or not you're leaning forward.

Don't be too hard on yourself or too impatient. Work diligently, and the problem will go away in its own time. In the meantime, you'll find great improvements on other parts of your technique while working on this one.

exile

To him unconquered.