Picking a Style

Kavrae

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all, I thought this might be a good place to learn a few things. Well, here's the deal; I spent a few months in a Yaun Wha Ryu class in college and really liked it. Unfortunately, I had quit do to moving. Since there aren't many options where I live and my free time is unpredictable at best, I thought I could try teaching myself something. I know it won't be anywhere near as good as if I had a teacher, but it's what I've got. What I need here, is a recommendation of a good style that could fit my needs.

---------------------------------------------------------------
It needs to be a style that can be self-taught to a decent degree. I'm trying to find someone to learn with me, but chances are I won't have a partner for most of it. I prefer defensive styles that focus on counters and manipulation rather than force. (excelled at those techniques in Yaun Wha Ryu more than anything else)

I also messed around with a Bo-staff for some time; with a few lessons in form and technique and about 6 months of practical application. A style that can also incorporate a staff would be amazing.

One style I liked the look of was Southern Praying Mantis, but since I don't know much about it, I have no idea if it's what I"m looking for.

Oh, as for practicality; not important. The way I see it, most martial arts, until learned to a ridiculous degree, won't give much advantage in a real fight. Too many unpredictable variables. This is mostly for exercise and fun.

This was longer than I expected... so...any suggestions?

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
Don't worry about "style" so much. Visit schools around you. Talk with students and the instructors. Participate in a class. Determine which school will meet your goals the best and which instructor you can see yourself spending many years learning from.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score