Once in the guard...

B

Bogle

First Post....

I am new to the martial arts and BJJ seemed to offer more of a "realworld" fighting art...so here I am about two months into training and I love this stuff.
But...I have a few questions
Once in the guard, I have someone in my guard for so long my feet/ankles start to hurt, think tired... will this feeling go away after time or is there something else?
My whole body hurts all the time...again over time?
My neck (in the gaurd) ,after awhile, will not stop hurting...think cracking

Thats about it att, I love BJJ and hopefully there is a future for it in my life

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
All the pain that you are feeling should go away as you learn more techniques and relax more during a grappling session. All people try to use power when they begin to grapple, this is often due to a lack of experience. As time progresses and you learn when to use each technique, your muscles will relax more and you will find that you don't power out as fast and can spar for longer periods of time. Also, you will feel much more comfortable using an open guard and know when to use either one.

Hope this helps and I am glad you are enjoying BJJ :)

OP
J

JDenz

as your body and muscles become more conditioned the pain should go away. Also your tolerance to pain will get higher so it will all work out.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As you get better, you'll feel more comfortable opening your guard when needed or when you're tired. That'll help. I wrestle a lot of big guys and need to open it--I often can only barely, if at all, cross my ankles.

You'll also learn to relax as time goes on and make more efficient use of your energy.

OP
J

JDenz

also once you get more comfertable and start using a butterfly guard you will feel better as well.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score