Older noob feeling very uncomfortable...some advice plz

kllrbee

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey allIve just started taking classes. While im not old by any means (39), Im probly older than most beginners.I know i shouldnt feel like this, but when im in class I feel so unsure and somewhat embarrassed cuz I dont know anything. All the other students are far ahead of me....and younger. Not kids or teens but like twenty somethings.The Sifus are right around my age and they say im picking it up very quickly but that may be just fluff to keep me motivated.Now...I know i should just swallow the man pride and say "hey im new at this"....its still hard to not feel uncomfortable. Especially when anyone im teamed up with immediately becomes an expert cuz they are paired up with the new guy. Dont get me wrong...the class is great and the people arent jerks or anything. I realize they are just trying to help. Its just all kinda embarrasing tho.Any advice to get this feeling out of my head?

wingchun100

Senior Master
Reaction score
Think about something you are good at that THEY might not be. That is one idea. The other is to give yourself a break. :)

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score