Non-martial MA applications

D

Despairbear

Greetings all,

I was wondering if any one else has been able to use aspects of their training in the world in a non-martial application? For example: I work as a firefighter and was in a hotel fire where the ceiling sprinklers had been running for about 30 min. The entire 2 nd and 3rd floors had about 2-3 inches of water in them. As my team rounded a corner looking for a good way to ventilate the building there was a tile floor section (very hard to see in smokey conditions) and as I stepped into it both my feet flew out from under me. Now with all the gear we wear (about 40-50 lbs including wet turnouts) and an axe in one hand, had I put one hand down and caught myself I probably would have broken my wrist. So as soon as I felt my self go I went into a hard fall and was back on my feet before the second firefighter was around the corner. Saving my self injury and embarresment. Goes along with my belife that martial art tringin should impact nearly all areas of our lives not just our ability to fight.

Despair Bear

OP
D

disciple

Ah yes, I have. I am practicing taijiquan to release my stresses and get quite some workout too :D Hopefully someday I will have enough "chi" to help curing anyone sick :eek:

salute
:asian:

Shotochem

Purple Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Yes, the amazing ability to turn the lightswitch on with a snap kick as well as the back kick to close the car door when your hands are full carring groceries....:D :D :D

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Worked on an ambulence for ten years. Its amasing how many times a gentle wrist lock or slight pressure point activity can quite a rowdy patient. More than once had to block a punch trown at me by drunks.
The calm mind set and just knowing what your capabilities are at any given time sometimes show in your whole being and can calm down a bad situation.