Muay Thai Round Kick.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was taught the Muay Thai round kick in JKD the other night. Does anyone here practcie it? Any advice on perfecting it? I still throw a snappy roundhouse kick with my instep from years of karate and it may be a hard habit to break.

KumaSan

Blue Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Check out this thread. Hope it makes sense. If any of that isn't like what you were taught, let me know the differences. I'm still learning too.:)

T

ThuNder_FoOt

Hi everyone, I'm just posting in request to Kumasan.

I'll try to point out a few subtle differences that I have noticed. Well,in the first part of MT, the pivot of the hip begins at the start of the kick. AS you chamber you begin to pivot so you can generate more power. Upon impact, you continue into your target until there is almost no recoil, then pivot your hips back to facing your opponent and drop your leg down straight in front or in back and resume fighting stance (no rechamber position). During this time, you are in on-guard in fighting stance, and can easily launch another kick if the situation calls for it.

With TKD, you don't pivot on the chambering portion of the kick. In TKD, you bring the kick up chambered like a front snap kick, then pivot your hip as you extend your leg. So the first half of the TKD roundhouse kick, is actually a front kick. Then upon impact, you continue into your target until about half recoil. You use the rest of the recoil energy to recover, getting in a quick rechambered position. From this crane stance, you are pretty much on-guard in fighting stance, as TKD uses crane stance for advanced offense and defense techniques. Even so, you could still place your leg down, while still ready to lauch another kick if need be.