Martial arts with a hand injury

SBlakeS

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi. I am curious if there is a martial art that would be best for someone with a hand injury. A little over 5 years ago, my wife injured her hand pretty badly and received several surgeries. Now, three of her fingers are fused. She can hold a soda can, 10-finger type, and even crochet with it but she can't make a fist and has no grip strength in that hand. They are also thinner and probably a little more fragile than her other hand. Any advice would be appreciated.

Blake

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. I'm sure someone here will be able to help, we have a wide range of stylists here and while I have no experience of training anyone with this type of injury I'm sure someone will.
( I can knit but for the life of me can't crochet, just can't 'get it' lol, so I'm thinking she must be good at adapting.)

OP
S

SBlakeS

White Belt
Reaction score
She has adapted vey well. Sometimes I forget that she even has the injury but occasionally something will come up that reminds me.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Best advice? Leave the hand out of consideration. Go to schools and try them. Find an art she enjoys. Train. Lots. As she does, she'll figure out how to work around the hand, just like I've figured out how to work around only having one eye. Or another poster here has figured out how to work around his CP. And on and on.

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score