Martial Artist and Divorce

ppko

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I am currently going through a divorce this is my first marriage, I truly love my wife, but she does not want to try and work anything out so our marriage is over. Though it still stings a bit I have pretty much gotten over it. here is my question why do you think that divorce rates tend to be high in the Martial Arts world

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
they are? I didn't know that. Where did you read that ppko?

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Divorce rates are high, period.

I went through mine before I started training. I wish I had discovered MA before, it may have made the divorce a bit easier to cope with.

Sorry to hear about what you are going through. Hang in there.

bluemtn

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm sorry to hear about the divorce, ppko... I didn't know that divorce is higher among ma'ists. Well, I'm glad you're coping, and I hope it goes smoothely for you.

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
ppko, I owe you an apology for being so rude and not posting that I too am truly sorry about your marraige. I can only imagine the pain you are feeling. Heal well. :)

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
ppko said:
I am currently going through a divorce this is my first marriage, I truly love my wife, but she does not want to try and work anything out so our marriage is over. Though it still stings a bit I have pretty much gotten over it. here is my question why do you think that divorce rates tend to be high in the Martial Arts world

Back in the late 90's it was just over 50% divorce rate. Although the stat I found most interesting, is that if you marry a person you met or dated for up to three years after your divorce was final the divorce rate was 75% for this group. People have a tendacy to make the same mistake twice. :(

Good Luck

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster