"Marine Corps Martial Art"

kroh

Brown Belt
Reaction score
One of my instructors has been in contact with some one (a civilian) that has been let into the MAP program. I guess he was let in to go through the cirriculum so as to evaluate its teaching method compared to other martial arts.

From what I have been told...I want to go through the E-Tool training. Nothing says loving like a shovel to the face!

As for the army system that was developed...It is heavily based on the ground fighting of Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu. While I agree that ground fighting is a necessary component to a complete fighting system, i think a program centered on it for battlefield conditions is not realistic. I am a former soldier with many friends still in and they pretty much feel the same way. The army is promoting this method of training less for the combat effectiveness of the whole affair (if you have to get into a grapple on the battlefield you are screwed anyways) but more for the esprit de corps that it builds by holding competitions (like the Russians do with Sambo).

Regards,
Walt

Regards,
Walt

samurai69

Blue Belt
Reaction score
This is a cut and paste from geoff thompsons forum, maybe it clears things up a bit

One of our members here is Mike Brewer, though he rarely posts. He's a JKD guy mainly (I think, sorry if I'm wrong their Mike) and has recently attended and succesfully completed the much talked about Modern Army Combatives Programme (MACP) that has caused quite a few raised eyebrows in the Combatives community in recent years.

A bit of background.

When referring to Combatives, many of us include the work done by people such as Fairburn, Applegate and Sykes to prepare allied soldiers in WW2. These were the trail blazers in the field. The training consisted of a small number of strikes that were easy to learn yet potentially devastating in effect.