Maori Martial Arts

LoneRider

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I was just watching the Deadliest Warrior episode on the Maori versus the Shaolin the other day and also watched the Islands of Blood (Hawaiian warriors) on the Warriors documentary.

What were the various Maori martial arts? How many different arts are there amongst the Maori? I notice they mentioned Seamus Fitzgerald was a master of Mao-Taiaha (sp?) which from the look of it was largely weapons use. I'm actually curious about learning about that particular aspect of New Zealand culture. It seems that there might be more martial arts developed by the Maori over their centuries of near constant warfare...

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I studied Maori martial arts when I was in New Zealand and also here in Hawaii. They are very well developed with all sorts of drills that resemble games for youth and the use of actual weapons. Each tribe had its own art that it taught, focusing on different weapons. There really isn't any unified martial art or any major organizations. Learning is all about who you know.

OP
LoneRider

LoneRider

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I thought the various Polynesian weapons presented in the Deadliest Warrior episode were quite interesting including the trauma potential of the shark tooth club (how it left fragments in the target) was insanely high. However of the four Maori weapons presented in the episode my favorite was the Taiaha because of it's versatility and power.

The Taiaha appears to be a combination of the spear, quarterstaff, and club all in one. Is this observation accurate? Which tribe really focused on the use of the Taiaha?

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score