making a trainer? – for the complete newbie

tarabos

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
i'm interested in making my own aluminum trainers, most likely crafted from the tracing of my live folder to begin with. i know a lot of people here are experience in this field and i could use some tips. and when i say tips...i mean i need to know it all. a lot of the threads here have good info on them, but they're on step 5 while i'm back on step -2.

i was really looking to find out first of all if there is any particular resource out there on the net or a good book or video you could recommend.

then i would like to get some first hand info. i need it all. my main question is, "what equipment will i need to get started?" i'm pretty much in the dark here. i know there will be some type of sander involved and of course some aluminum, but i could really use some tips on where to buy the equipment and materials and what types or brands to get as well.

i'd also like to know if there is something else i should be doing first, such as practicing in a different medium before i get to the real thing.

and finally, if anyone can, perhaps you can give me an estimate of what it will all cost to start from scratch as i'm planning to do.

thanks....

MATT

D

DRAVEN

You'll need a drill press, get a knife belt sander, n a metal cutting band saw...look into http://grizzley.com.. Now for aluminum, ckeck ur local machinist n buy there scraps for like $12 for 4' x 3" x 1/4" is an example...Hey do u happen to know Josh Ryer. anyway hope this helps
RICH V.
Ed Parker's Studio
PASADENA

arnisandyz

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Don't go out and by "specialty" knife making equipment, thats overkill. You can get everything pretty cheap if you look around.

I have a 9" ryobi bandsaw (takes 59"blades I think) you'll have to buy a blade for cutting metal. $80 + $5-10 per blade

1" belt sander. Got a cheap one at Harbor Freight Tools for $50 + $$ for 40 grit belts