Lost in DC

T

Travler

Hello MT members,
I am new to the DC area working on Bolling AFB (Southern DC). Does anyone know of reputable Taekwondo (WTF) schools in DC, Maryland or Northern Virgina which I might resume my training with?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hmmm...contact Fearless Freep on this board, who recently moved there and found a school!

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
Small World : )

I'm currently training with Master Seok Kwang Ha at Champion Academy TKD. He's a 7th Dan Korean, pretty old school and traditional I gather. His broken Enlgish can be a bit hard to understand but pay attention to his body and hand motions and you can pick up what he's trying to convey and he knows his stuff and really cares about his students doing well. I'm learning quite a lot and his stryle of training ends up being a pretty good workout due to the pace of the drills and such.

He teaches the class himself, with some assistance occasionally from his 4th Dan wife and occsaionally his son (who holds a BB but I'm not sure his dan rank) and sometimes gets some help with translation from other Korean students. But, he's on the mat teaching you himself and he looks like a little old Korean guy but when he moves, he's smooth and very quick; he's in good shape and very limber (I hope I'm that lose and fast at his age)

He teaches Taeguek forms and Olympic style-sparring; we do breaking on the last week of the month. Some step sparring. Lot of combination drills mixing up kicking and punching; he's big on hand strikes in combination with foot strikes. It's fairly straight TKD.

His place is up on the north side, north of DC in Silver Spring MD (actually Wheaton I think but I get confused on where one ends and the other begins) in place with a big sign that says "Karate" (from before him but it's too expensive to replace) and TKD in Korean in smaller letters above it.